Luxembourg is latest EU state to hike countercyclical buffer

Luxembourg’s financial watchdog imposed a 0.25% countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) on domestic banks in December 2018, bringing the number of European Union member states with a rate higher than zero to 12.

At the end of last year, the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier, raised the CCyB capital add-on from 0%, citing higher systemic risks in response to changing credit conditions for corporations and households. The new add-on will take effect from 2020.

In total, EU countries

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here