Operational Risk Awards 2017: call for entries

Practitioners, vendors and service providers invited to enter by the end of April

OpRisk Awards 2017 logo

The Operational Risk Awards honour excellence in op risk management, regulation and service provision.

The awards are divided up into practitioner and vendor categories. Practitioner categories, which include op risk management awards for banks, asset managers and insurers, will be judged by a panel of senior editors and writers. The journalists will closely scrutinise and verify the information contained in these entries, including by undertaking follow-up interviews with the firms involved.

Vendor categories, which include awards for law firms, consultancies and technology providers, will be judged by a carefully selected panel of op risk practitioners and other industry experts.

Judges will consider the extent to which each entrant has demonstrated excellence and met the criteria laid out for the category or categories entered. While judges will analyse firms’ entries in detail, judges are allowed to make their final decisions based on all the information at their disposal and not solely the information contained in the entry.

Meanwhile, the award for Paper of the Year is judged by the editorial board of the Journal of Operational Risk, who will recognise an outstanding contribution to the journal in the previous year; and the inaugural Book of the Year award will be judged according to the same rationale by the editor of Risk Books.

Finally, all entrants are invited to nominate candidates for the Industry Initiative of the Year and Outstanding Achievement of the Year awards.

This year’s winners will be recognised at our annual awards evening on Tuesday June 13 at the Marriott Grosvenor Hotel in London.

Interviews with all winners will feature in a special awards supplement, to be published in July.

For full details and to download the entry form, please visit www.opriskawards.com.

Remember, entries close on April 28. Late submissions will only be considered at the discretion of the editor.

Good luck!

Tom Osborn, editor, risk management

Practitioner categories:

Bank of the Year
Insurer of the Year
Insurance Broker of the Year
Asset Manager of the Year
Regulator of the Year
Paper of the Year
Book of the Year
Industry Initiative of the Year
Outstanding achievement of the year

Vendor categories:

Consultancy of the Year
Law Firm of the Year
Best Cyber Risk/Security Product
Best Financial Crime Product
Best GRC Product
Best Risk Analytics Tool
Best Stress-Testing Product
Best Regulatory Reporting Platform or Service
Best Market Surveillance Product
Best Newcomer (Vendor or Product)
Best Managed/Support Services Provider
Best Outsourcing Provider
Best Overall Product of the Year (no entry required; judged as the best of the previous categories)

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@risk.net or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.risk.net/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@risk.net to find out more.

Financial crime and compliance50 2024

The detailed analysis for the Financial crime and compliance50 considers firms’ technological advances and strategic direction to provide a complete view of how market leaders are driving transformation in this sector

Investment banks: the future of risk control

This Risk.net survey report explores the current state of risk controls in investment banks, the challenges of effective engagement across the three lines of defence, and the opportunity to develop a more dynamic approach to first-line risk control

Op risk outlook 2022: the legal perspective

Christoph Kurth, partner of the global financial institutions leadership team at Baker McKenzie, discusses the key themes emerging from Risk.net’s Top 10 op risks 2022 survey and how financial firms can better manage and mitigate the impact of…

Emerging trends in op risk

Karen Man, partner and member of the global financial institutions leadership team at Baker McKenzie, discusses emerging op risks in the wake of the Covid‑19 pandemic, a rise in cyber attacks, concerns around conduct and culture, and the complexities of…

Moving targets: the new rules of conduct risk

How are capital markets firms adapting their approaches to monitoring and managing conduct risk following the Covid‑19 pandemic? In a Risk.net webinar in association with NICE Actimize, the panel discusses changing regulatory requirements, the essentials…

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Risk.net account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here