US omitted from second wave of equivalence assessments

New approach needed for US, says European Commission, as seven countries identified for assessment

usa flag

South Africa, Australia and Hong Kong are among the countries that will be in the second wave of assessments for third-country equivalence with Solvency II, the European Commission has said.

The US is absent from the list, but the commission said that a "different approach" for determining its equivalence should be sought.

The commission has identified seven countries that could be given transitional equivalence with Solvency II. These are: Australia, Chile, Hong Kong, Israel, Mexico, Singapore

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options


Want to know what’s included in our free membership? Click here

This address will be used to create your account

Most read articles loading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here