European Commission draws up new list of countries for Solvency II equivalence


The European Commission is drawing up a list of countries that may qualify for equivalence with Solvency II. It will also decide on the equivalence of the regulatory regimes of Bermuda, Switzerland and Japan during the first half of 2013.

Jonathan Faull, director-general, internal market and services at the Commission, said 16 countries had been identified that could meet equivalence requirements in the future and that might take part in a transitional regime for Solvency II equivalence.


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.


Want to know what’s included in our free registration? Click here

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here