Malta at a glance



Quick facts

Full name: Republic of Malta
Population: 408,000 (UN, 2008)
Capital: Valletta
Area: Malta is composed of three major islands (and three minor): Malta Island – 246 km2 (94.9 sq miles); Gozo – 67 km2; and Comino – 3 km2. There are also some minor uninhabited islands.
Major languages: Maltese, English
Major religion: Christianity
Life expectancy: 77 years (men), 81 years (women) (UN)
Monetary unit: euro from January 1, 2008
Main exports: Machinery and transport equipment
GNI per capita: $15

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here