Cayman Islands at a glance

Cayman Islands: Facing a challenging future with confidence


Quick facts
Territory: Cayman Islands (Grand Cayman and its sister islands Cayman Brac and Little Cayman)
Status: British overseas territory
Population: 47,900 (UN, 2008)
Capital: George Town, Grand Cayman
Area: 260 km2 (100 sq miles)
Major language: English
Major religion: Christianity
Currency: Cayman Island dollar
Time zone: GMT -5 hours. It does not observe summer time.
Main exports: Fish, cut flowers
Internet domain: .ky
International dialling code: +345

Banking and currency
Cayman Islands currency

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here