CESR elects new chairs

CESR has elected Eddy Wymeersch, chairman of the Belgian Banking, Finance and Insurance Commission (CBFA) as chairman of CESR and Carlos Tavares, chairman of the Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários (the CMVM), as vice-chairman of CESR to lead them for two years from February 1.

CESR has been chaired by Arthur Docters Van Leeuwen (chairman of the Netherlands Authority for financial markets) and vice-chairman, Kaarlo Jännäri (director general of the Finnish Financial Supervision Authority) from CESR’s creation in June 2001.

The election of CESR’s chair and vice-chair marks an important phase in the life of CESR, as members focus their attention on bringing about operational convergence among supervisors and on delivering an ambitious work programme for 2007. This work programme seeks to deliver concrete and tangible changes ensuring the network of supervisors functions effectively, and that all financial markets and market participants benefit fully from the enhanced level of co-operation among supervisors.


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@risk.net or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.risk.net/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@risk.net to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Risk.net account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here