CESR elects new chairman and vice-chairman

The Committee of European Securities Regulators (CESR) has elected Eddy Wymeersch, chairman of the Belgian Banking, Finance and Insurance Commission (CBFA) as chairman of CESR, and Carlos Tavares, chairman of the Portuguese Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários (the CMVM), as vice-chairman of CESR for two years from February 1.

CESR has been led by Arthur Docters Van Leeuwen (chairman of the Netherlands Authority for financial markets) and vice-chairman Kaarlo Jännäri (director general of the Finnish Financial Supervision Authority) from its creation in June 2001.

In 2007, CESR will increase its focus on investment management, and also on the successful implementation of the European Transparency Directive and the Markets in Financial Instruments Directive, according to its work plan published in December last year.

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@risk.net or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.risk.net/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@risk.net to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Risk.net account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here