Basel Committee extends membership to G-20

The Basel Committee has broadened its membership to include all the G-20 nations

BASEL - The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision has extended its membership to reflect the increased role of the G-20 group of nations in formulating cross-border regulatory reform.

The freshly added G-20 countries include Argentina, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa and Turkey. Two non-G-20 jurisdictions have also been included in the enlarged club - Singapore and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR).

The increased level of international supervisory collaboration since the financial crisis unfolded has increased the role of the G-20 and sharpened its regulatory teeth through the new Financial Stability Board - formerly the Financial Stability Forum.

The Basel Committee's expansion could be seen not only as a reflection of this change but also a defensive step to ensure it isn't left behind in the formulation of new financial regulation.

The committee's governing body will now expand to include the central bank governors and supervisory heads from the new intake, adding to its previous membership roster of Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and the US.

The committee says its expanded membership will enhance its ability to strengthen global supervisory practices and standards. It will also help to more effectively implement the necessary reforms of the international financial system.

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here