People: US Senate confirms slate of regulatory appointees

Giancarlo confirmed as CFTC chairman, Quintenz and Behnam join as commissioners; Chatterjee and Powelson restore Ferc quorum


The US Senate voted unanimously to confirm Christopher Giancarlo as chairman of the US Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) and Republican Brian Quintenz and Democrat Russ Behnam as CFTC commissioners on August 3.

Giancarlo has been acting CFTC chairman since January. He first joined the agency in June 2014 as a commissioner after being nominated by President Barack Obama.

“I am humbled by the bipartisan support in the Senate,” said Giancarlo in a statement. “I stand ready to fulfill

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: