Hong Kong, India, Turkey lag behind on Basel III framework

Only Canada, Japan and Saudi Arabia ready for full implementation as January deadline approaches

With less than three months to go before a swath of new Basel III standards becomes mandatory, only three countries – Canada, Japan and Saudi Arabia – have published final rules. Fourteen jurisdictions have made modest progress, while three – Hong Kong, India and Turkey – are still in drafting phase.

A set of revised standards aimed at making the capital framework more robust was finalised in 2017, and later complemented by an overhauled market risk framework in 2019. The agreed date to kick

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@risk.net or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.risk.net/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@risk.net to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Risk.net? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Risk.net account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here