Six countries slash countercyclical buffers

Sweden reduces its buffer the most, to zero from 2.5%

Financial watchdogs around the world have lowered countercyclical capital buffers (CCyB) imposed on banks in a bid to stoke lending throughout the coronavirus crisis.

Authorities in Belgium, Denmark, Hong Kong, Norway, Sweden and the UK have all announced the lowering, or full release, of their CCyBs in recent days. This has the effect of reducing Common Equity Tier 1 (CET1) capital requirements for domestic exposures, particularly helping national banks with scant overseas businesses. 


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here