Most Basel members have yet to adopt TLAC

Many countries also behind on implementing SA-CCR, NSFR, securitisation framework

Less than half of the jurisdictions under the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision have adopted the bail-in debt and capital rules agreed by the standard-setting body – despite the agreed deadline having passed in January.

Total loss-absorbing capacity (TLAC) requirements for too-big-to-fail banks are in effect in only eight of the 19 member jurisdictions. Another eight countries have yet to put forward any laws on TLAC, including China, which is host to four current global systemically

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

Most read articles loading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here