EU countries accelerate countercyclical buffer increases

Eleven EU members currently apply CCyBs, with Bulgaria the most recent country to join the club

European Union member states hiked countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) rates for banks 12 times this year, double the frequency reported in 2017.

Ten countries increased their CCyBs this year. France and Slovakia raised their buffers once, by 25 basis points each. Bulgaria, Iceland, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden also increased them once, by 50bp apiece. Ireland raised its CCyB by a full 100bp. The Czech Republic and Denmark raised their buffers twice each this year, by 50bp and 100bp in total

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here