Energy CROs committee set for public launch next week

Sources close to the development said a press release will be issued outlining the founding members on Tuesday or Wednesday. It will also lay out the group’s aims and working practices.

Three confirmed founding members are: Richard Osborne, CRO of Duke Energy; Mike Smith, CRO of Mirant; and Bob Stibolt, CRO of Tractebel North America. Another three founding members will be unveiled next week, but are believed to be John Collins, CRO of Constellation Energy Group, Patric Simpkins, CRO of TXU Energy, and Scott Smith, CRO of American Electric Power.

A number of other participants from other energy companies have also joined the committee.

The group was informally created in February after several CROs decided to form a more tangible alternative forum to the conversations they were having at industry meetings.

The committee already has group meetings, with the chair rotating between the six founders. It also has four working parties seeking to create best practice recommendations in credit, disclosure, valuation and metrics, and corporate governance and control. Two co-chairs head the working parties, and no company is allowed to have more than one co-chair.

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here