Chiang Mai currency swap deal comes to life

The Chiang Mai agreement, a currency swap between the 10 Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) member countries, China, Hong Kong, Japan and Korea, has gone live. The agreement, which was signed at the end of last year, is a step up from the existing bilateral currency swap network, as it will “further enhance regional capacity to safeguard against downside risks and challenges in the global economy”, according to the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA).

The initiative, which is aimed

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to View our subscription options


Want to know what’s included in our free membership? Click here

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here