Four UBS directors to leave as bank steps up risk oversight

Directors Stephan Haeringer, Rolf Meyer, Peter Spuhler and Lawrence Weinbach will resign before the extraordinary general meeting scheduled for October 2, at which their successors - still unnamed - will be elected.

The bank also announced that the once-powerful chairman's office has been abolished, with newly formed risk and strategy committees taking on its role alongside two existing bodies, the governance and nominating committee and the human resources and compensation committee. Chief executive Marcel Rohner and the bank's executive committee will now be responsible to the board for bank operations, a change from earlier, when the chairman's office was also involved in running UBS.

"Bringing UBS back to its leading position was the number one priority I committed to at the annual general meeting of April 23, 2008," said chairman Peter Kurer. "We have made a big step forward with the clear separation of the duties between the board and executive management and the abolition of the chairman’s office."

UBS has reported over $30 billion in writedowns linked to US real estate and structured credit, triggering the resignation of chairman Marcel Ospel in April this year.

See also: UBS appoints Philip Lofts as new group risk COO  
5,500 jobs to go at UBS as losses continue

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here